Home Motorcycle Turner back at the top of the motorcycle class at Bristol Dragway...

Turner back at the top of the motorcycle class at Bristol Dragway | Sports


Seven-time Bristol Dragway champion Jerry Turner returned to the ranks of the winners on Saturday in the motorcycle category at the last DER Bracket Series event.

The Bluff City rider won on a holeshot over Chris Johnson of Elizabethton in the final round of Saturday’s DER Bracket Series race. Turner, on a Kawasaki, then blew up the drag strip in 5.858 seconds at 113.97 miles per hour on a dial of 5.83. Johnson, riding a Haybosa, completed a race of 6.345 seconds at 111.17 mph.

The Super Pro and Pro classes met in Round 5 of the eliminations on Saturday. Unfortunately, the rain washed away Sunday’s eliminations.

Jake Ball of Johnson City, John Light of Fall Branch and Josh Owens of Hampton were among the winners of the fifth Super Pro round. Elizabethton’s Todd McKinney was among those who made it to the final round of the Pro eliminations.

Erik Colley had a reaction time of 0.006 to beat fellow Bristol driver John Nelson in the Sportsman’s final. Jamie Radford of Radford, Virginia also won on a holeshot to beat Nick Wishon in the Trophy final.

Landon Bailey of Abingdon won the Junior Dragster, Division 1 when Luke Hutchinson of Hampton set the red light on in the final round. Piper Cory of Banner Elk, NC, defeated South Carolina pilot Myles Heatherly in the Division 2 final.

Another Abingdon pilot, Brianna Bailey, took the victory in Division 3, despite the better reaction time of Haely Bowers of Blountville. The next DER Bracket Series races are scheduled for July 24th and 25th.

Bristol Dragway will host the BTE World Footbrake Challenge this week, featuring the nation’s top foot brake racers, with $ 15,000 for the winner of each day’s events. The challenge begins Thursday and continues through Sunday.

The lonely pine racetrack

It was a great night for the Gobble family last Saturday at Lonesome Pine Raceway.

Josh Gobble stood up to his rival Lance Gatlin to win the Limited Late Model race. In a battle of black Chevrolets, Gobble’s No.88 crossed the finish line half a second ahead of Gatlin’s No.52 car. Elby Harrison, Alex Posey and Cameron Williams round out the top five.

Kirby Gobble added to the bonus by fighting for a three-second victory over Blayne Harrison in the Mod Street feature with TJ O’Quinn taking third place. Kirby Gobble was a very busy man, also finishing ninth in the Late Model feature and third in the Mod 4 race.

With a $ 1,000 bounty hanging over his head, Kevin Canter found his way to victory anyway, winning the Mod 4 feature. Dennis Arnold finished second behind Canter after finishing second at Kingsport on Friday. Speedway.

Kingsport rider John Ketron won the Pure 4 race while Larry Yeary and Ben Barker took the other podiums. Rob Austin, the Pure Street finalist the night before at Kingsport, won at Lonesome Pine while Mike Mays was second and Buzz Smith third.

The features of the Twin 50-lap Limited Late Model highlight the Saturday night racing schedule. Grandstands open at 4 p.m. and start of races at 7 p.m.


There was a lot of fireworks on the Kingsport Speedway race track last Friday night, and this Friday’s schedule includes a fireworks show after the races are over.

Fan Appreciation Night opens at 5 p.m., followed by practice and qualifying. The start of the races is scheduled for 8 p.m. with fireworks at the end of the evening.


Volunteer Speedway is hosting an Independence Day “Firecracker at the Gap” with a five-division program plus a ladies’ powder puff race and fireworks show.

A 25-lap feature for the Crate Late Model division heads the track action. Grandstands open at 5 p.m. with hot laps starting around 7 a.m.


Fall Branch’s Gabby Kindle was a finalist in last Saturday’s women’s race for the Hot Summer Nights Supercross series on the Cathey’s Creek MX course in Forest City, NC. Noah Roy of Jonesborough was second in the race (85cc rookie).

The Hot Summer Nights Supercross Series returns to the Tri-Cities area with races at I-81 Motorsports Park scheduled for Saturday.

Source link