Home Classic motorcycle Pinkbike Primer: everything you need to know before the 2021 Les Gets...

Pinkbike Primer: everything you need to know before the 2021 Les Gets Downhill World Cup

18
0

The best return in the world to Les Gets

A classic revisited


For the second round of this year’s Downhill World Cup, the riders will return to the classic Mont Chery site to set everything up on a new technical track. Leogang didn’t disappoint as an exciting first lap, and we can’t wait to see what these riders, especially some of the rising stars like Vali Holl, have in store for us next time around.


Track

The Les Gets downhill track has seen a few racing iterations, from races in the late 90s and early 2000s to the iconic Steve Peat battle against Fabien Barel at the 2004 World Championships, a few years behind Crankworx Les Gets, before the return from the World Cup in 2019. For this year, Les Gets has built an almost entirely new track, using the general layout of the old one but with deviations on almost all the big bends that we have. used to see in Les Gets.
Aside from the beginning and the end, the trail is mostly in the woods. It will take a wide range of skills to pass this course.
While it might not have all the rowdy, nostalgic appeal of older versions of the course, the new features and spooky inclines will be more than enough to make it an epic race. Les Gets did well with this one, maybe too well.


Previous winners

ELITE MEN
2019 // Amaury PIERRON // FRA
2018 // Troy BROSNAN // AUS
2017 // Troy BROSNAN // AUS
2016 // Rémi THIRION // FRA

2004 // Fabien BAREL // FRA *
2002 // Steve PEAT // GBR
2000 // David VASQUEZ LOPEZ // ESP
1999 // Steve PEAT // GBR
1998 // Christian TAILLEFER // FRA

ELITE WOMEN
2019 // Tracy HANNAH // AUS
2018 // Rachel ATHERTON // GBR
2017 // Myriam NICOLE // FRA
2016 // Morgane CHARRE // FRA

2004 // Vanessa QUIN // NZL *
2002 // Anne CAROLINE CHAUSSON // FRA
2000 // Anne CAROLINE CHAUSSON // FRA
1999 // Anne CAROLINE CHAUSSON // FRA
1998 // Anne CAROLINE CHAUSSON // FRA

Note that * denotes a world championship race and the italics denote a Crankworx race.


What happened in 2019?

Tracey Hannah edged out Marine Cabirou by less than a second, followed by Mariana Salazar. In the juniors, Vali Holl was the fastest woman of the day, passing more than a second faster than Tracey Hannah and winning her class by a wide margin. Amaury Pierron took the victory in the men, followed by Loic Bruni and Laurie Greenland. Thibaut Daprela, now a threat on the podium in the elites, took the victory in the junior men.

Elite Men

1st. Amaury PIERRON // 2: 57.008
2nd. Loïc BRUNI // 2: 59.360 // +2.352
3rd. Laurie GROENLAND // 3: 00,458
4th. Troy BROSNAN // 3: 01,145 // +4.137
5th. Loris VERGIER // 3: 01.514 // +4.506

Elite Women

1st. Tracey HANNAH // 3: 27.600
2nd. Marine CABIROU // 3: 28.277 // +0.677
3rd. Mariana SALAZAR // 3: 29,771 // +2,171
4th. Eleonora FARINA // 3: 33.680 // +6.080
5th. Nina HOFFMAN // 3: 34.057 // +6.457


Season ranking after the first round

In the first round we saw Camille Balanche take victory again at Leogang, confirming her World Championships victory here last year, and Troy Brosnan came back to the top with a phenomenal run.

ELITE MEN
1st // Troy BROSNAN // AUS // 250
2nd // Thibaut DAPRLA // FRA // 190
3rd // Amaury PIERRON // FRA // 140
4th // Reece WILSON // GBR // 137
5th // Danny HART // GBR // 135
6th // Benoit COULANGES // FRA // 121
7th // Dakotah NORTON // USA // 105
8th // Rémi THIRION // FRA // 103
9th // Laurie GROENLAND // GBR // 90
10th // Ed MASTERS // NZL // 86

ELITE WOMEN
1st // Camille BALANCHE // SUI // 220
2nd // Vali HOLL // AUT // 210
3rd // Monika HRASTNIK // SLO // 156
4th // Marine CABIROU // FRA // 155
5th // Tahnee SEAGRAVE // GBR // 122
6th // Eleonora FARINA // ITA // 120
7th // Myriam NICOLE // FRA // 110
8th // Emilie SIEGENTHALER // SUI // 80
9th // Veronika WIDMANN // ITA // 70
10 // Raphaela RICHTER // ALL // 55


Weather forecast


With terrain already saturated and downpours possible, it wouldn’t be surprising if this weekend turned into another muddy affair.

Thursday July 1 – training
Variable cloudiness with a thunderstorm in a few places // 19 ° C // 40% precipitation // wind 7km / h

Friday July 2 – Qualification
Cloudy weather and sun with thunderstorms in a few places // 21 ° C // 40% precipitation // wind 7km / h

saturday july 3 – Finals
Irregular showers in the morning; otherwise variable cloudiness // 19 ° C // 60% precipitation // wind 6km / h

Weather forecast for Wednesday June 30 from Accuweather.


The schedule

Thursday July 1
• 8:30 am-11:45 am // Official downhill training – Group B
• 12h00-15h15 // Official downhill training – Group A
• 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. // Timed downhill training session
• 5:00 p.m. – 5:45 p.m. // Inspection on foot of the downhill course – Riders and teams

Friday July 2
• 8:30 am-10:00am // Official downhill training – Group B
• 10:15 am-11:45 am // Official downhill training – Group A
• 12:15 pm // Classification race – Junior women
• 12:30 pm // Qualifying Round – Juniors Men
• 1:30 p.m. // Qualifying Round – Women Elite
• 2:00 p.m. // Qualifying Round – Men Elite
• Follow-up of // 30 minutes of inspection of the downhill course on foot – riders and teams

saturday july 3
• 8:15 am – 9:15 am // Official downhill training – Junior Women, Junior Men, Elite Women
• 9.45am // Final – Juniors Men
• 10:30 am // Final – Juniors Women
• 10: 50-11: 05 a.m. // Official downhill training – Elite Women qualified for the final
• 11: 05-12: 05 // Official downhill training – Elite Men qualified for the final
• 12:30 pm // Final – Women Elite
• 1:30 p.m. // Final – Men Elite
• Price to follow

Note: All times are local and may be changed by the event organizer.


How to watch

Pinkbike will give you the best daily coverage in Les Gets this week. Connect to Pinkbike to take epic photos, videos and results of timed training, practices, qualifying and finals, as well as technical info and info.

You can also watch the Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup on redbull.tv. The DH live stream begins Saturday, July 3 at 12:30 p.m. CEST.

Program: The Mercedes-Benz UCI Mountain Bike World Cup Les Gets LIVE on Red Bull TV:

Les Gets DHI Women: July 3 live on Red Bull TV at 12:30 p.m. CEST (3:30 a.m. PDT, 6:30 a.m. EDT, 10:30 a.m. GMT, 10:30 p.m. NZST)
Les Gets DHI Men: July 3 live on Red Bull TV at 1:45 p.m. CEST (4:45 a.m. PDT, 7:45 a.m. EDT, 11:45 a.m. GMT, 11:45 p.m. NZST)

(Every hour CEST, replay available immediately after races. Times are subject to change at the discretion of the organizers and Red Bull.)


Fantasy league


Don’t forget to complete your DH Fantasy team before Friday! Participating is much more fun than watching from the sidelines.

Pinkbike Fantasy Downhill League in association with Retallack.


Source link